At the request of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), the Senate chairman announced the name of Yousuf Raza Gilani as the Leader of the Opposition.

The Senate Secretariat has also issued a notification in this regard.

Yousuf Raza Gilani appointed as Opposition Leader in Senate
Yousuf Raza Gilani appointed as Opposition Leader in Senate | PC: Reuters

Earlier, PPP leader Senator Sherry Rehman had claimed the support of 30 members of the Senate for her candidate and said that it was the right of the PPP, no funeral of the PDM was offered.

PPP sources said that the members who signed in support of Yousuf Raza Gilani included Senator Hidayatullah, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Mushtaq Ahmed, and Nawabzada Arbab Umar Farooq.

It may be recalled that the number of PPP members in the upper house is 21, which is the highest among the opposition parties.

Sherry Rehman had said that she had the support of one member of Jamaat-e-Islami, two members of the former FATA, and four members of Dilawar Khan’s Azad group for the post of opposition leader.

Sherry Rehman also said that a petition has been submitted for the PPP opposition leader with the signatures of 30 members.

On the other hand, when Senator Yousuf Raza Gilani was asked about this, he said that he himself did not know how many members had signed for support, Sherry Rehman had invited me here.

It should be noted that differences between the PPP and the PML-N had emerged over the issue of the new Leader of the Opposition in the Upper House.

Earlier, the PML-N had submitted a petition to the Senate Secretariat to nominate Senator Azam Nazir Tarar for the post of Leader of the Opposition.

17 PML-N senators sign nomination for Azam Nazir Tarar In addition, five senators from the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) and two each from the National Party and the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party pledged support.

The PML-N had nominated Azam Tarar for the post of Senate Opposition Leader but the PPP not only rejected him but also protested against him as he was a lawyer for the accused police officers in the Benazir Bhutto assassination case.


Leave a Reply