Pakistan beat India by 10 wickets in the T20 World Cup Super 12 round match thanks to Shaheen Shah Afridi’s excellent bowling and excellent batting of the openers. This is Pakistan’s first victory against India in a World Cup event of any format.

In the crucial match of the T20 World Cup played in Dubai, Pakistan won the toss and invited India to bat first.

Pakistan wins against India in T20 WCUP-2021
Every teammate congratulates Shaheen Afridi for taking Rohit Sharma’s wicket — Photo: AFP

When India started the innings, Rohit Sharma returned to the pavilion on the ball of Shaheen Shah Afridi without opening the account.

The score had just reached 6 when the other opener Lokesh Rahul could not understand Shaheen’s ball and became clean bowled.

After losing two wickets, Virat Kohli was joined by Surya Kumar Yadav and both added 25 runs for the third wicket to take the score to 31.

Before the partnership proved to be dangerous, Pakistan bowled Hassan Ali in the sixth over who bowled out Surya Kumar Yadav on 11 runs. Mohammad Rizwan completed a century of catches in T20 cricket with a superb catch.

When Mohammad Hafeez came for bowling, Pakistan took a review against Rishabh Pant after the catch appeal was rejected but the decision of the field umpire proved to be correct and Pakistan’s review was lost.

In the 12th over of the innings, Rishabh Pant took an aggressive approach and scored 15 runs in the over, including Hassan Ali hitting two sixes in a row, but in the next over, in an attempt to hit a six off Shadab Khan’s ball, he played a high shot and the bowler made his own. He made no mistake in catching the ball.

The Indian wicketkeeper-batsman played an innings of 39 before being dismissed, while from the other end, captain Virat Kohli continued his responsible batting and completed a half-century.

Ravindra Jadeja played an innings of 13 runs but was caught out by substitute Nawaz in an attempt to hit a six to Hassan Ali.

Shaheen Shah Afridi continued his excellent bowling and ended the innings of Indian captain Kohli in the last over of his innings, Kohli scored 57 off 49 balls.

Shaheen bowled a no-ball on the last ball of his spell, Pandya took a run on a free hit Shaheen threw for a run out but it crossed the boundary line to give him 10 runs on the last ball of his spell.

In the last over of the innings, Haris Rauf returned Pandya to the pavilion and India lost the seventh wicket.

India scored 151 for 7 in the allotted overs and gave Pakistan a target of 152 for victory.

For Pakistan, Shaheen was the most successful bowler with 3 wickets while Hassan Ali took two wickets and Shadab and Haris took one wicket each.

When Pakistan started the innings, Mohammad Rizwan greeted Bhuvneshwar Kumar with fours and sixes.

After that, the Pakistani batsmen scored easily against the fast bowlers but they were seen struggling against the spinners.

Babar Azam initially struggled to score runs but then he took an aggressive approach with a six off Ravindra Jadeja and a four off Varun Chakraborty.

In the 13th over of the innings, both Mohammad Rizwan and Babar completed Pakistan’s century by hitting Warne with sixes while the captain of the Pakistani team also completed his half century.

After Babar, Rizwan also completed his half-century and continued to advance towards the target while batting well.

Pakistan reached the target without any loss before 13 balls.

For Pakistan, Mohammad Rizwan scored 79 off 55 balls with 3 sixes and 6 fours while Babar Azam hit 68 off 52 balls.

Shaheen Shah Afridi was declared the best player of the match for his excellent bowling.

Along with this victory, Pakistan also set a new record as it is Pakistan’s first victory by 10 wickets in T20 matches while India has lost by 10 wickets in T20 matches for the first time.


Leave a Reply