KARACHI: Former cricketers and fans have lashed out at the International Cricket Council (ICC) over the non-inclusion of national cricketers in the best team of the current decade.

According to the details, the ICC announced the best team of the current decade, which surprisingly did not include any Pakistani cricketer, including national team captain Babar Azam, former captain Younis Khan and league spinner Yasir Shah. Former cricketers and cricket fans mirror the ICC on social media.

Criticizing the ICC, former speedster Shoaib Akhtar said, “It was not the IPL team but the T20 team of the year that should have been announced. A world-class batsman like Babar Azam should have been in the T20 team.”

Moreover, he said that the ICC may have forgotten that Pakistan is also a member.

Former captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Rashid Latif also criticized the ICC, saying “a mistake was made and they forgot to write ‘IPL’ in the T20 team.”

“Younis Khan and AB de Villiers deserve to be part of the Test team of the current decade,” wrote user Babar Warrior.

A user named Rohit wrote in support of national cricketer Younis Khan that “Younis Khan should have joined the Test team, he scored a triple century in Test cricket and completed 10,000 runs at an average of 50.

Another user reminded the ICC that Pakistan has won 11 consecutive Twenty20 series, saying, “This is an injustice.”

Addressing the ICC, cricket fans shared the batting average of Babar Azam and AB de Villiers in which De Villiers has scored 1,082 runs in 44 innings while Babar has scored 1,681 runs in 42 innings at an average of 50.9.

Leave a Reply